PURPLE SHRIMP Impossible?

There are so many colors of shrimp out there, but I never seen a real purple shrimp (only photoshop images). Not sure if saltwater ones exist.

The purple zebra shrimp is red to me. Ninja shrimp and rainbow shrimp I don't think have ever been purple.

I have zero knowledge on shrimp genes when it comes to breeding, but I am interested to hear why it is impossible or extremely difficult to produce purple shrimp (out of all the colors of the spectrum). So I am just asking, is it really impossible?

I do know for shrimp genes one simply cannot breed red with blue to get purple since it doesn't work that way in shrimps.

133b5c77aaef6e118d9b7f2d4fecc883.jpg

Yes, purple does exist in saltwater shrimp.  I've also seen some kk that supposedly have purple (although others state it is light reflection) and some purple cherries.  I used to have a line I was working with called Plums.

So this is an interesting question with a simple but complex answer.

In my experiments with neos, I have noticed two kinds of pigment.  One in the tissue that colors it.  One on the shell that colors it.

The shell pigments have some basic colors.  For example- red.  This color in its purest form equals a red shrimp.  The color though is actually pointillism.  Made up of little dots.  Stand far enough back and it looks like a solid color.  The more dots squeezed into an area makes the color look more dense.

As an example, if a shell has dots of both red and yellow in roughly equal proportions, it can look orange.  The color is not "mixed"- it just looks mixed from our perspective.

Now let's take the color of tissue for example.  Far less is known about these colors, but in a nutshell a yellow shrimp is often a transparent shell with yellow tissue.  Same with the original BV, etc.