Seeking advice on Blue Bolt tank setup

I’m looking to set up a Blue Bolt tank. I’ve kept cherry’s and crs successfully, but this will be my first technical shrimp tank build, so I would love some feedback before I pull the trigger.

By technical, I just mean, trying to do my best to keep the little buggers thriving. :)  I assume BB shrimp are going to be trickier than CRS.

I'm going to be using a previously cycled fish tank and sponge filter. (still wet from previous use).

Lighting: 13 watt T-2 lights from http://americanaquariumproducts.com/Aquariumbulb.htmlWhich so far have been awesome (except for some algal bloom).  They are the cheapest lighting solutions I've ever found.  My background is in planted freshwater.

I have a TDS meter

Inside the tank: Cholla logs, Christmas and Java Moss.

Substrate: Controsoil

Water: RODI

Additives: Salty Shrimp GH+

Food: Various Leaves from Buypetshrimp.com

Filtration: Dual Sponge

Tank Size: 10 gal

This is really as far as I’ve gotten.  I’m not sure about other additives…  should I put some kind of powder under the substrate before I put water in?  What would be good to have on hand etc.  I would love it if someone could help me fill in some blanks.

Thanks!

You seem to have a good list going there. Can you share what you mean by technical? Also, what size tank and filtration method are you planning to use? That might help folks get a better idea.

Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk

Welcome, nice to see an A Lister keeping and breeding shrimp :).

Seems like your definitely on the right track and have done a fair share of research. I always recommend moss and/or driftwood, most recently I began using Teddy Bear Cholla Wood in place of driftwood.

As ChadO stated what size aquarium, filtration, lighting, etc.