Experienced Keeper Advice Please

So I'm a newbie. But I do, do lots of research before jumping in. My first attempt at shrimp where with some neo culls. It was going pretty well! But I had an infestation of pond snails and thought it'd be a grand idea to get some Assassin snails to take care of the issue. HORRIBLE idea. The Assassins ate my shrimp and IGNORED the pond snails. Pissed off is an understatement. Sooo take two will be a MUCH cheeper plan to get my feet wet again. I am going with a colony of ghost shrimp. As long as I can keep them alive and happy I have a new project in the works.

The tank I am doing my "testing" in is a 40 gal show tank. It is tiled and very heavily planted. It also has Texas Holey Limestone in it to help up the PH (it will eventually be a home for an Axolotl). My water KH and GH is normally 2. My PH runs at 6.5 (the test does not go lower). I actually want to start up a 10 gal shrimp tank for just shrimp. It will be planted of course. Mosses and easy plants mostly. It will be a show tank (because I like pretty). For this tank I am thinking gravel of some kind. It will have a hob filter with my own blend of media. Including filter floss, Poly Filter, and ceramic rings. And I supplement the shrimp with a high quality shrimp food.