OEBTs breeding issues and gh 9?

Duque

Hi Everyone.

Is a gh of 9 too high for OEBT's to live and breed comfortably?   If I need to lower the gh, how do I do it without affecting other parameters and while following dosage instructions on the SS gh+ package?

I have 2 blue tiger tanks which I've been tweaking for almost 3 years now and still haven't achieved a successful breeding environment.   Over the years people have been extremely generous with their advice and help, and I'll usually stick with something for about 6 months and see how it works before trying someone else's "recipe".

Both tanks use only R/O water, are heavily planted, have driftwood, ramshorn snails, pygmy cories & ottos, use two sponge filters each, kept at about 70-73 degrees, and have similar substrates (Fluval).  Although one is about 2.5 years old, while the other is 8 months or so.   Speedie helped me realize that I had been mixing too much SS gh+ AND Kent's R/O Right and suggested that I just stick to the SS gh+ and follow dosage instructions.  (Shout out to Nick for catching that).

Here are the parameters from 2 days ago:

pH 6.5 and 7.4 (older tank and I don't know WHY)

KH 2

gh 9 (sometimes even 10)

temps 70-73

NO3/NO4    0.0 - 0.3

TDS - I forgot to check it before feeding them, but usually around 270

I have mineral balls and rocks in both of them.

As I occasionally have a few baby shrimp appear (only a few survive), the feeding regiment is the following:

3-4 times/week: Borneo Wild Bebi or Shirakura

1 x week or every other week: Borneo Wild "Shield" and Mosura Bio Plus

2 X week:  Crushed and ground up Shirakura (regular and/or Vivid), Borneo Wild "Color"

1 x week:  thawed out frozen spinach

1 x week:  frozen blood worms

All of this is mixed, alternated, substituted, and most importantly fed in SMALL portions, usually only on alternating days.  I'll have a 2-day fasting in the middle of the week.

If there's anything obvious, I'd really appreciate your input.