should my shrimp swim?

sarah

I'm new to shrimp. I have a 10gallon species-only tank of red cherry shrimp. Started out with 10 and now have ~50 of various ages a few months later, plus a few berried females.

They all look healthy and seem active, but I almost never see them swimming. All the videos I have been watching (of a variety of species of shrimps) show frequent swimming activity. My Amano shrimp (in a different tank) swim a lot. Should I be concerned that my cherries never do this?

Also... when I feed them, only maybe 50% of them come over to feed immediately. Does this mean they are happy eating the biofilm in the tank (loads of moss and plants), or is this a sign of a problem? I have been feeding 2x/week, usually one Hikari mini algae wafer, a Ken's veggie calcium stick, or a small cube of homemade snail jello.

Shrimps can be a bit finicky on what food they like. It may be that they just don't care for the one you use. Today. Tomorrow they might change their minds ;)

Also, what is your setup? Is there a strong current/airflow? This may inhibit free swimming.

But generally, I don't think you have anything to worry about.

People notice shrimp swimming after water changes and assume this is because they are thrilled with the water changes.  Some call it "dancing".  In fact, this wild swimming behavior is a flight response.  If you give them the water change using a very slow flow -- as in through an airline you won't see this behavior.    Contented shrimp don't swim wildly around except males when there is a female ready to mate.  If you see females with this behavior you know they are not really "dancing" as people like to say - but trying to flee - but are in a glass prison - so they swim from side to side.