Cherry shrimp selective breeding (newbie)

Hi everyone,

I'm very new to shrimp keeping, so sorry for all the stupid questions!

I have a tank with some cherries in it. They were rescued from a filter of one of my boyfriends fish tanks that used to have shrimps in. The poor guys didn't look to healthy, were very pale and quite small. But somehow they have survived and have started to breed.

I want to selectively breed them to try and improve the color of them. Some of the shrimps have coloured up nicely and I have a couple of really nice females. Some of them are however are still very pale, almost clear. (Will try to get some pictures tonight)

The fist lot of shrimplets have now grown and the females have got saddles.

Can the females breed as soon as they get saddles?

At what point do the final adult colours show, some of the young shrimps have saddles but are still really pale. And still quite small is tis due to genetics or are they just unhealthy? Is there anything I can do about it?

Any tips of how to selectively breed for colour would also be very helpful.

I also have some pest snails in the tank, is there any reason to remove them, will they cause any harm.

Sorry for all the questions!

Thanks

If I notice a pale or clear shrimp with a saddle I know it will not develop the red color im looking for so I would cull. I like to let my colony get about 30-40 adults then cull out the light colored ones leaving only the darkest red but make sure to leave a few males.

Haha that's exactly what I've spent my day so far doing! Although I've had to make some modifications so the marina box sits on top, if I hang it on the front it blocked the view of the tank, and I didn't like having it hidden behind.