help me make sense of this persons breeding success

russrafajko

let me start by saying I am very new to the shrimp hobby and have had very small success with breeding shrimp. but I work at a local fish store, and a lady came in today looking to donate 6 gallon size zip lock bags of java moss. she said it was just half of what she had and she needed to get rid of it because it was growing too fast. she also commented on how fast her shrimp were breeding. she told me she had green jades, blue dreams, cherries, yellows and oranges in different "grades"  all breeding in the same 90 gallon tank with gold fish. I asked her what the babies look like (assuming they would be cross breeding and breeding out the color) and she told me they were breeding pure and she has around 5000 total shrimp. I asked her how long she had been breeding that group and she said that the tank has only been set up for about a year, and she started with 4 shrimp. I immediately asked her what she was doing special with her tank to make her shrimp breed that quickly, but she refused to tell me, saying it was a secret. All i could get out of her is that she uses a human grade water filter that has carbon ceramic and silver to ionize the water. do you guys think shes full of it? or is there some magic way to get shrimp to reproduce that quickly that I haven't caught on to yet.