Hello from Manhattan, Kansas

Steve R.

Hello there, shrimp fans,

I have been a member in this awesome forum since last summer but never really introduced myself. I really love this forum.

My name is Stefan Rothenburg, I am an assistant professor for virology and immunology in the Division of Biology at Kansas State University, Manhattan, Kansas. My work focuses on the interaction of pathogens (mainly viruses) and the immune system of their hosts (mostly vertebrates)and how this interaction influences the virulence and the host range (range of different species that the pathogen can infect) of the pathogens. Here is a link to my lab website if you are interested: http://www.k-state.edu/hsv/Site/Welcome.html

I am not working on shrimp pathogens. In our work we use a lot different techniques in molecular biology, cell biology and virology. Besides this, I am teaching a Molecular Biology Laboratory class for senior undergraduate students. For the next class in the Fall, I am considering working on a shrimp-related project with my students, such as isolating DNA, cloning and sequencing of some genes and finally performing phylogenetic analysis by constructing phylogenetic trees of the shrimps that we are analyzing with other shrimps, whose sequences are deposited in databases.

My little sister in Germany inspired me to do aquascaping and she also had nice yellow fire and tiger shrimps. I got a lot of my plants from her.

The only shrimp species I am currently keeping is Caridina sulawesi (Sulawesi crown shrimps). It is a hardy species found in rivers and caves in Sulawesi Selatan. Here are links to previous posts dealing with Caridina sulawesi.

http://www.shrimpspot.com/index.php?/topic/1122-sulawesi-shrimp-collection/

http://www.shrimpspot.com/index.php?/topic/767-caridina-sulawesi/

http://www.shrimpspot.com/index.php?/topic/2104-sulawesi-golden-crown-shrimp-breeding-project/