what color sand goes with blue? vanity question

Crazyfishlady

I found this on ebay  http://www.ebay.com/itm/SubstrateSource-Sand-3-pounds-Many-uses-Freshwater-Aquarium-/331349421528?pt=Decorations&var=540542409162&hash=item4d25f6edd8

There is a color chart. I am trying to find a cap that will show the soon-to-be blue velvets the best so I can sit and stare at them and not wonder where they are.

I've googled and youtubed and it seems the almost terra cotta/clay color shows the blues the best?

I'm thinking of the tan shown here but thought I would get opinions.

inert - they are neos, but just for something that will help them show us easier :) It's nicer when they don't get lost in the color of the substrate.

Also - is there down sides to sand? I have never used it before. I normally just use floramax but really like the sand look and want to try some.

I'm afraid that tan will be that 'natural stone' like this http://www.petsmart.com/supplies/gravel-sand/top-fin-premium-aquarium-gravel-zid36-17571/cat-36-catid-300072?var_id=36-17571&SelectionCacheKey=25+Lb%7CClassic+Beach%7C&_t=pfm%3Dcategory  which is NOT what I want

I think either the tan or dark tan are good options.  I actually have that gravel you linked to.  If you don't want the natural stone look, then maybe try the dark tan.  I see a lot of shrimp tanks with akadama.  If you're going for that type of look I think the tan is a better match.  Here's the link to the website http://www.substratesource.com/?p=home.  You can buy samples for $1 if you want to see them first hand, also there are better blown up pictures on the website.

Vinn do you have a link to your suggestion? Eva - thank you! I do like the tan. I have the natural gravel in my betta tanks and love the look, just wanting something that will help show the blue velvets and the natural stones have so many colors I figured they would get lost in them

Thank you both!