Mineral Balls and Leaves

I've seen Mineral balls for shrimps on ebay and other sites. Do they really have any benefit.. Any members who use them?? I've seen two types.. What's the difference between the two..

Also about leaves.. I've seen people keeping Indian almond, banana and guava leaves in tanks.. Is it OK to keep them long term or how often do you change them.. I'm new to keeping shrimps and I want to get as much info as I can.. Note that I'm only keeping Neos..

grey color ones are tourmaline balls.

I use few in each tank.

It's good to have, in other words, it's not must.

From what I understand most experienced shrimp keepers can note say with 100% certainty that the mineral balls work, most just like to have them in case they do work but you can not notice their effects. 

A lot of people use leaves as a form of biofilm in which the shrimps devour the leaves. Not everyone has success with them though. 

Mineral Balls are definitely a hot topic as we all wonder how well they work if at all. In my experience I would say they do work, to what ends I don't know. Long story short, more times than not people encounter problems with shrimp deaths by way of molting. I use mineral balls as a peace of mind or insurance policy in tangent with other products to ensure the shrimp I have are receiving adequate minerals, nutrients, etc for them to properly molt.

As far as your leaves question goes, I use 3 different types of leaves at minimum in my shrimp tanks. Not need to take them out, just let them be eaten by the micro organisms in your shrimp tank, which the shrimp will then feed on. Leaves as the ones you mentioned also have several beneficial properties to them aside from producing biofilm.

Hope that helps!