I thought I'd share this unusual (to aquarists) shrimp that I have been keeping for a few months. My keeping of it to this point has been almost entirely seat of pants, with near-zero previous testimonials that give any detail of longevity, behavior, etc.

I started my journey to finding this shrimp when building a South American biotope aquarium, more specifically targeting a Colombian/Venezuelan llanos Orinoco tributary stream biotope. I realized that there are not any regularly traded South American shrimp species, though there is no deficiency of shrimps in the region. I started looking into which species were at least irregularly traded and found Euryrhynchus amazoniensis as one of those. Still, I could not find any US sellers/sellers willing to ship to USA.

post-3393-0-35400100-1454366998_thumb.jp

By chance, I found a seller who had several shrimps which were labeled something to the effect of Macrobrachium sp. "Peruvian zebra". I checked against some of the identifying characteristics (and distribution information, confirming E. amazoniensis is in Peru among other places, especially Brazil/Rio Negro) laid out in the literature and felt comfortable this was a Euryrhynchus sp. rather than Macrobrachium and given E. amazoniensis's status as a previously traded aquarium shrimp, I figure that's what I've got. By the time I got to this point, I was no longer interested in adding this species to my community biotope—indeed, I do not believe you'd find it in the llanos—but felt like it was a really cool species and one that if I was lucky enough I might be able to distribute to fellow aquarists. Scientific literature indicates that its reproduction is similar to the familiar Neos and Caridina, with no larval stage and no need for brackish/marine water. Pictures may not accurately portray the size of the shrimp...even including the length of the arms, they do not even reach 2" long.

post-3393-0-42057400-1454366992_thumb.jp