New Shrimps Dropping Dead HELP

psitta

Hello! I'm new to shrimpkeeping. I've been cycling my tank for like 5 months, and I have plants, snails, there's biofilm, weekly 20% water changes, Seachem Prime dechlorinator...

My pH is ~7.5, 0 ammonia, 0 nitrites. Temp is 73°F, no heater it's just room temp. No idea the GH/KH.

I grabbed two bloody marys from my LFS on an impulse a few weeks ago. One died, the other is fine and dandy. 

I ordered about 17 RCS from Aquatic Arts, they arrived two days ago and I acclimated them for 2 hours, monitoring them the whole time.  One died an hour into acclimation so i stopped to let them sit before a while before continuing. 

Since the shrimps have been in the tank, I've had 3 more deaths all at least a few hours apart. I just fished the 3rd out now. Is there a problem with AA? Should I buy from somewhere else?

I don't want to lose all these guys, I'm really loving these shrimps. What do I do?!

(Picture cause they're cute)

20170912_190727.jpg

1 hour ago, psitta said:

No idea the GH/KH.

That could be a start. To successfully raise shrimp, you'll find that knowing what's going on with your water is critical.
I'd recommend investing in a gH/kH test kit and a TDS meter. 

Are you injecting CO2?

Sorry, shrimp get expensive really quickly.

Weekly 20% water change is a little overkill. That's recommended for most types of fishkeeping, but shrimp have a very low bioload and do not need that big of a water change that often. I do a 10% once a month in my shrimp tanks, although I have a lot of plants that soak up the nitrates so that helps a lot. Do you drip the new water into your tank? Shrimp like constant, stable water. Also would buy a gh/kh test kit. 

Definitely isn't a problem with aquatic arts, they're the only people I've ever bought shrimp from. I've never had a bad experience with them.