Shrimp and Water Troubleshooting and Prep

Mikolas

Hi all,

I am a returning hobbyist after having quit for a few years (just kept some 20 gallons barely operational). Previously, I had attempted to breed both caridinas/neos unsuccessfully in Buffalo, NY. The only thing that thrived did well were cherries, and snowball shrimp. My caridinas (OEBT, tigers, CRS and CBS) and neos such as neon yellow, orange, blue velvet, would also die. Once I transitioned to NYC, I had attempted dream blues and also could not keep them alive. The Dream Blues/OEBTs seem to die attempting to molt or when they were berried. Seeing them berried pretty much meant that they would die before hatching. Water was just tap water conditioned with seachem prime, no CO2, no R/O. Towards the end, it seemed the best way to keep them alive was "minimal interference". I only topped off water, and fed once every few/several days. This didn't ultimately work, but they stayed alive longer. 

Now that I'm back, at the recommendation of a friend, I have decided to try dirted/soiled tanks. Specs are below:

4x 20 gallon longs

2x 40 gallon longs

Substrate - Organic Soil on bottom, sand on top. 

Plants - Subwassertang, Swords, Anubias, Willow Hygro, Mint Charlie, Crypts, Vals, Crypts, Frogbit, Salvinia Cullcuta, Wisteria, Java Fern, marimo moss, banana plant. I have just gotten some flame moss and weeping moss and will be trying to make carpet/walls for the first time (in hindsight I did not have much of any moss in my shrimp tanks before). 

Ornaments - Manzanita or other driftwood depending on tap 

Filter - Aquaclear (with sponge on intake and Hydro sponge filter per tank

Lighting - 20 gallon longs have 2x 14 watt T5 NO 6.7k bulbs raised to around 16 inches, 40 gallon longs are somewhat to be determined but currently a 2x 54 watt T5 HO (about 18 inches above) and 1x 54 watt T5 HO (about 20 inches above)

I have cycled them and bought two shrimps so far.

Dream Blue shrimp - 20 gallon long