How to breed 2 specific shrimp in a group shrimp tank.

cdaJiv

So I’ve spent today doing my due diligence and trying to find answers to my questions before posting online, so far with no success...

If I have a CRS tank with 10-30 shrimp in it, with a mix of grades from S-SS (the majority) to SSS (only a few) and I wanted to specifically breed two of the higher grade CRS together, would I be able to do so within the community tank?

Right now I have a total of 5 tanks designated for shrimp:

• 20g Long - RCS

• 10g Dennerle - Yellow Back Neos

• 10g Dennerle - Orange Sakura Neos

• 10g Dennerle - CRS/CBS

• 5g Fluval Spec - Currently housing mix of neocaridina fry (I don’t want to empty it until they are all out but there to small to see right now).

I am relatively new to breeding shrimp (

Would they use floating breeder boxes or a mesh breeder inside the tank?

And if so how do you go about “getting them in the mood”?

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

I know things like alder cones and almond leaves prevents bacterial infections, do you think the tannins make them more comfortable, maybe to help the breeding rate?

In my CRS/CBS tank I’ve had one berried Shrimp in the last month and a half and that was only just recently. At the moment the stock is only 20 count, but I am receiving 35 CRS this week and wanted to know if there are any tips.

I keep my tanks around 72°F, 150-200 TDS, very low NO3.

Is my temp to low?

I've always wondered this too. I assumed people used the breeder boxes/mesh I guess? Ill watch this thread. 

11 hours ago, chappy6107 said:

a little bit of Barry White goes along way....

I couldn't help but giggle at that comment. ^

• 4 months later...