Howdy!

Party_DJ

How do I begin... So Im a 13 yo guy named Dan and I have a 120l Tank (that I totally hate, cuz I got guppies in it and I cant get rid of them. I know u asking why I got guppies if I dont like em. I got the tank from a friend and yea... oh and I have 1 cory and yes I know they should be at least 6, but my tank is already overstocked so there's not much that I could do) and I have a Fluval fx4 on it that's a bit overkill, but ya know u can't have too much filtration :D Im want to do a 30l planted tank (aquael set) with shrimp and I have soooo many questions. What substrate should I use? Should I use additives like Bacter100? Should I use power sand? What shrimp should I get? I love Sulawesi ones, but why do they have to be red?! What plants can/should I use? Could I maybe put some nano fish in the tank? I really want to buy the Twinstar Shrimp 30, but is it worth it for 100 bucks? And so on and so on... Maybe some of you could help me :D Thanks ;D

I'm a bit of a newbie here myself, and I can't answer all of your questions, but I'll give a try at some of them :)

As you have probably already noticed, there can be a lot to learn!

You could put some plants in your guppy tank. Good for the guppies, probably good for the plants, good practice for you. I usually know a lot more about what I like and how to do it, after I try doing it for a while.

Substrate: I personally use an inert substrate (typical "gravel" sold for aquariums) with plenty of mulm (fish waste), and my plants grow nicely. I have a light (fluorescent light bulb), but do not add any special fertilizers or anything else extra for the plants. This was easiest and cheapest for me to try, and worked well enough for me, so I haven't bothered to change. Lots of other people do things differently and also get good results, so I do not know what would be best for you.

My plants: