No Moulting or Breeding

drk5179

Hello all,

Long time shrimp keeper on and off and this is my first time posting to shrimp spot! I am having an issue or two with my current tank that I was hoping to get a few opinions on.

Currently I keep a combination of neocaridina (blues) and CRS in the same tank.  This is a 7 gallon cube tank with tropica aqua soil, seryu stone, some malaysian drift wood and RO water (TDS 10) remineralizer with SS GH+ to about 140 tds.  The typical TDS of the tank itself is around 200 due to feeding and general evaporation. TDS above 200 is an indication that i need to do a water change.  I've tested the KH = 1-2 and GH = 7-10 and the PH right around 7 probably due to the seryu stone. Additional occupants are a single nerite snail and a single ottocinclus. 

I have had the blue shrimp for much longer term in the same setup, roughly 8 months.  They bred for me a couple of times but have gone stagnant over the past 6 months, very very slow growth from the babies and no breeding.  For this period of time i was using normal tap water and keeping the tank at a relatively low 70-72 degrees.  In total now i have about 50 of them that are almost at maturity. I got the CRS relatively recently, maybe had them for 2 months now and this was when i transitioned the tank to RO remineralizer.   They responded quite well to the tank and i took zero losses and everyone seems happy and healthy. I feed the tank blanched zucchini and calcium pellet food on occasion.  They are always really active and eating heartily.