Two projects CRS and RCS

lalfish

I'm in the planning stage for two projects, both arising from recent experiences with a 19 liter Fluval Spec where I've been keeping CRS, for the first time ever, for the past five months.  Synopsis is that after two months I had a big spike in colony size (up to over 20 in May from the original 6 adults purchased at LFS) followed by crash of same, probably due to over-feeding and build-up of debris on substrate.  But things stabilized and more babies appeared and grew so life was good. And then last weekend there was a freak-out when it appeared that the tank was leaking significantly so I quickly moved the smaller colony of to another tank.  The relocation tank is not suitable for long term.  In the Spec, I was using ADG AZ soil over Akadama clay with no RO, no bio-film support, no beta glucans, no shrimp-specific nutrition. But I had lots of bog wood and catappa leaves and even a peat ball to further buffer pH a bit. Below is snapshot of part of the colony before it crashed. There is plant debris. The pink boulder looking things are bits of Akadama clay. I think the clay may have helped, but not sure whether to use it again in new projects.

First project will be a tank for learning and remediation.

Tank: Aqueon 20 Gallon Long 

Substrate: Controsoil prepped with Bacter-AE and beta glucans

Filtration: Sponge-only

Heavily low-light planted (0.50W, 6500K Beamworks LEDs) with bogwood and moss

The learning part: working with sponge-only filtration and air pumps, better shrimp husbandry, attending to nutrition whilst not over-feeding. 

The remediation part: stocking with RCS that have been thriving on neglect in Walstad planted tank but that have been losing color over the course of several generations, plus a shoal of tiny-mouthed Rummy-nose tetra from an overstocked community fishtank with higher pH than what is recommended for this species.