Preferred Metal Rack

I am in the market for a rack. I am not experienced in the slightest at making things. I have decided probably to go with one of those metal "garage" type storage racks. I was wondering who out there uses these and if there is a preferred brand that preforms best. I have heard that putting plywood down on the shelf really ensures the tanks are level, so I am considering that. I want to see what you guys think and have experienced. For the record I am looking for something 42-48 inches long, 4 shelves high, and deep enough to hold  ten gallon tanks sideways.

• 2 weeks later...
2 hours ago, chappy6107 said:

I use an older version of this one:

https://www.lowes.com/pd/edsal-72-in-H-x-48-in-W-x-24-in-D-5-Tier-Steel-Freestanding-Shelving-Unit/1000527

I took the MDF board out and cut some 2x8(2x4 will work too) pieces to take its place and to hold the weight.

That was the front runner of my finding. I cannot tell if there is extra support under the particle board so I have been kind of deterred. Is there crossbeams under the wood on every shelf?

11 minutes ago, schleppey said:

That was the front runner of my finding. I cannot tell if there is extra support under the particle board so I have been kind of deterred. Is there crossbeams under the wood on every shelf?

No there is not a cross beam under the wood on each shelf.  That is why I took the wood/mdf out and put 2x8's in its place.

http://www.homedepot.com/p/Edsal-72-in-H-x-48-in-W-x-24-in-D-5-Shelf-Steel-Commercial-Shelving-Unit-in-Black-UR-245WGB/202067997

that's what i have.

it can be made into two 3 foot high selves instead of one six foot.

sixteen 10's with plenty of overhead space.:)

i use 2x4's,but you can use a thick plywood if you want.

On 10/22/2017 at 8:43 PM, chappy6107 said:

No there is not a cross beam under the wood on each shelf.  That is why I took the wood/mdf out and put 2x8's in its place.