Be gentle. It's my first time (checking water parameters.)

Sandy

Hi folks,

I posted recently about trying to find out what's causing me to lose so many shrimp.  Several members were very helpful about a number of issues.  aotf and bobthesushiguy  recommended I buy some water test kits for gh, kh, ammonia, etc.  So I did!!  😊. Tonight, I played with my new Junior Scientist set and these were the results:

pH.   7
gh    20
kh    7
Ammonia    .25 ppm or lower
Nitrites    0
Nitrates    5 ppm

Based on my very limited knowledge about these tests, it looks like hard water is an issue for me.  Can I lower this gh number through water changes or should I get a water softener?  Do any other results look problematic?  I'd appreciate any feedback you might have.

Thanks so much!

Sandy

What type of shrimp do U have??? some like higher PH and gH

Playing Chemist is cool uhh?? I bet your son like it and now has something to bring to Science class

8 hours ago, Sandy said:

Hi folks,

I posted recently about trying to find out what's causing me to lose so many shrimp.  Several members were very helpful about a number of issues.  aotf and bobthesushiguy  recommended I buy some water test kits for gh, kh, ammonia, etc.  So I did!!  😊. Tonight, I played with my new Junior Scientist set and these were the results:

pH.   7
gh    20
kh    7
Ammonia    .25 ppm or lower
Nitrites    0
Nitrates    5 ppm

Based on my very limited knowledge about these tests, it looks like hard water is an issue for me.  Can I lower this gh number through water changes or should I get a water softener?  Do any other results look problematic?  I'd appreciate any feedback you might have.

Thanks so much!

Sandy

Great to see these numbers!
I agree that the gH seems quite high. There are breeders who get away with numbers like that but it's not the case for most people, especially if the shrimp come from a different water source.