Betta With Shrimp? High TDS?

I'm a betta owner Im new to shrimp I have blue velvet shrimp 13 of them in with my betta at the moment, he hasnt done nothing to them, iv actually observed him running away from them, so does that mean they can get along?. Anyway back to shrimp, I bought them online 5 at first, 1 came dead, aclimated the 4 put them in and 1 died, after about a week the 3 where doing really good well look like it anyway, so I ended up buying ten more from somone else, they came yesterday, acclimated them and all 10 seem to be okay so far. I read some storys after and decided to buy a tds meter and iv just had a reading of nearly 440ppm, can they live like that or is that cruel and they will eventually die? Im in london and I'm using tap water that's treated with API Stress coat, tanks a 10 gallon heated, filtered and heavily plated tank with wood and my water has tanins in it from leaching wood. Looking for any advice as I dont want my shrimp to die. Thanks