Random shrimp deaths

featherblue

Im working on dialing my tanks back in after a move to a new water source. Ive had some scattered deaths the last few weeks and im trying to figure out why.

Ive got a glass divided 20g long, with shrimp in each end. Blue jelly neos, michlings, and tibee on one end,orange neos and CBS on the other. Neutral substrate on both ends.

I know my tds is low (about 100tds in each tank), im doing wc to bring it back up towards 200. My ph is stable at 7. Kh is 4 and gh 7

Could my low tds be causing the random deaths??

The crystals are a newer adventure; but ive been running the neo tanks for 2 years with breed to excess headaches. Now everything is just not working well.

As far as long term ph fix, im considering aging some Amazonia in a seperate tank and adding it slowly.

The cbs have been living and were breeding with the orange neos this last year (their sucess was what led me to try the michlings and tibee recently).

And the random deaths gave been fairly equal between neos and crystals. Ive lost 4 of each over the last month.

Anything other than substrate that can help correct my ph? My wc should be moving my gh and kh back into the correct range (might take 2 or 3, going slow to limit shock).

As far as fixing my substrate, can i add aged Amazonia to a tank?

Is each compartment separate from the other's? My best advice is to set up tank's for your cbs, tibee and mishling with these parameters 6.0- 6.5 ph 80-150 tds kh 1-2 gh 4-6 if you want to see successful breeding and reduce deaths. Your cbs maybe surviving but that's all there doing short term you may have some success long term you will continue to have problems until you provide them with proper water parameters.

Yes the compartments are all seperate, no water exchanges between them.