Not with us at the moment, yet always on our minds?

Tannin Aquatics

As a lifelong hobbyist, I've spent a lot of time reading about, researching, observing, and collecting tropical fishes- just like most of you. And, in all of those years of researching, I couldn't help but wonder about some of "those" fishes- you know, the ones that are found in scientific studies and papers- fishes that seem to be ridiculously abundant in their natural habitats, yet never even show up as a blip on the radar for the hobby.

IMG_3683_large.jpg?5941238112703519158

Now, there are plenty of reasons why some seemingly abundant fishes never show up in the trade, the primary one being that the collectors are not aware of any commercial value for them, and are far better off, from an economic standpoint, when they bring in 5,000 Cardinal Tetras instead of the abundant, but commercially "uninteresting" Hemmigramus elegans, for example. The basically grey, nearly monochromatic characin has little in the way of value to the exporters, who need to satisfy the demands of hobbyists worldwide. Now, if suddenly there was a huge demand for this fish from the hobby world, or if it was determined that they contained a protein in their tissues that is effective at treating cancer, we'd see 'em coming in by the ton! Duh. Easy. Obvious.

So it's really about demand.

0015-05_large.jpg?12953417217333344399

And that makes sense. And, when you think about it, a fish being relatively drab and unremarkable in appearance has at least one benefit- it takes external pressures off of the wild populations of many species!

rivulus_xiphidius_female_gr01_large.jpg?