High pH

hollyh

Hello. I'm usually a forum lurker, but thought I'd post on the nice new forums! I'm pretty new to shrimp, although I've had fish in the past, so have some aquarium experience. Although its been many years and my last tank was salt. Sorry for all of the information, but wanted to try to get as much info about my tank as I could to see if those with some experience might see something obvious.

I have a 2 gallon Fluval spec with about a dozen CRS in it. Its been running about 5 months. I use RO water remineralized with Salty Shrimp GH+ and have a bunch of plants, java fern, java moss, hornwort, anubius, and some other little thing and a couple pieces of wood. The substrate is Floramax. Otherwise all stock setup, plus an air stone. The tank has been fairly healthy, I've only had 2 shrimp losses since I've had it, and have fairly recently had some little ones born. No idea how many survived since they're impossible to see or find!

This morning I found a dead shrimp in the tank and decided to check all of the parameters. Ammonia, nitrate, nitrite were all zero. GH 10, KH 2, pH 7.6. This was using the API drops, previously I was using some strips and the pH was always low to mid 6's. I did check my remineralized RO water this morning as well though and it was 6.4. It has been a few weeks since I've checked the pH, so no idea when it started going up. Temperature of the tank is in the mid to high 60's.

A couple of things that are different in the past month. I have planeria, yuck, and have been treating with Planaria zero. My dosing could be a bit off as I don't have a scale that can handle that low of weight and its really fine trying to divide it. So I guess best I can. I have removed the purigen that was in my filter. I had a dried almond leaf in there that was placed a month or so ago. They've not seemed interested in it, so I removed that today as well, just in case. No other changes to the tank, besides cooler temps since summer.