New Fluval Stratum Substrate

ANBU

supposed to be more like amazonia. it releases ammonia for a time so it cycles the tank for you. basically they are trying to make an alternative amazonia. I hope they can keep it from turning to mush and loosing its buffering ability so quickly. Someone has to be the tester, but it won't be me. LOL. I'll stick to what I know works.

I'm using it in my tanks, but can't personally compare it to the old one because I'm new to keeping shrimp....

Anyway, after searching a bit I did find a comment from Fluval was that the only real difference between the old plant stratum & shrimp stratum was size of the pieces. The new combined one uses both.

As for my experience, it does buffer the pH. I did a one month fishless cycle before adding shrimp. No problems at all with water chemistry.

I will say that I have quite a few unwanted pests in there. As far as I can tell between the two tanks I've had hydra, detritus worms, nematode worms & other small critters I don't have good enough magnification to identify 100%.

I will say that I have quite a few unwanted pests in there. As far as I can tell between the two tanks I've had hydra, detritus worms, nematode worms & other small critters I don't have good enough magnification to identify 100%.

I believe those pests are a result from over feeding.

Looks like it has been out for a while.

Didn't realised that changed the formula. Just thought it was a packaging change. Good to know. Guess I will have a reason to try it out.

New one say it is collected from Mount Aso Volcano in Japan and has added micro nutrient. Still not sure if it a different product or just a packing change from the old Plant Stratum but I guess only one way to find out.

It has been reformulated and so far it's good stuff, now let's see how long the buffering last. I would recommend it forget what you heard in the past about it, mines been running 4 months no problems.