Trying something new

I have never tried soil before, seems like a lot of you guys and gals are knowledgeable on the subject. So i would like to know. Positives and negs of it, whats its purpose, good kinds to start off with. i want to do a nice planted tank that can survive without  a co2 and all that (not ready for that). Last just things i need to know how long does it last what happens when its no good.

There's miracle grow organic which is a popular option. Any soil that wasn't made by animal compost will work and give you best results because it won't release ammonia like others or excessive nutrients.

It's a pain to get prepared before putting in your tank, but once you do it's pretty much set-and-forget. Cap it with sand, rock, eco complete, whatever you want and sit back.

If you plant afterwards, be prepared to see some soil cloud your water. Soil lasts FOREVER. Expect 1 year plus with soil.

I don't like soil tanks personally.    You make one wrong move when cleaning it and you've got a muddy disaster.  You also cant really rescape without making a huge mess either.

And sometimes you get weird bugs that pop up in them.    Ive never found a surprise damselfly larva in a NON dirted tank, but my dirted trial ended up with them.

May need to clarify, but I have a feeling that you are referring to a manufactured active substrate like ADA Aquasoil, control soil, etc but not actual garden soil (AKA dirted tank) for your new project?

Yep, there has been lots of discussion about active substrates here. Very knowledgeable folks.

May sound crazy but I'd read every old post in the "substrate" section and you will get lots of answers.

If you DID mean a "dirted tank" there's some great info from Dustins Fishtanks on youtube.

I would also read a book called Ecology of the Planted aquarium, by Diana Walstead.

I personally love dirtedtanks. While they can get messy when replanting or moving plants, the dirt will settle, where it can be vacuumed carefully later on.