Newbie cycling Aqua Soil Amazonia

lizam

Hi!  Nice to be part of this forum.  I am starting my first shrimp only tank.  Its a small tank and I know bigger is always better but this is being done at my place of work.  

I have never used aqua soil before.  I set it up on Feb 3rd and used some seeded media from my betta tank, which I trust.  I read that aqua soil would spike the ammonia levels but wow! :)  They rose to way over 4.  I did water changes with RO water that I buy from a local store.  I even went in on the weekend once to do a WC.   Unfortunately when I tested  TDS on the RO I got a reading of about 25.   I live in small town British Columbia Canada and I am very limited with what I can buy here.  My tap water is like liquid rock! ;)

Anyway I have been practicing using Salty GH to bring the RO water to a TDS of about 120-130 when I water change. I checked the GH/KH once and it was 6/1.  My plants came in this past Friday, big water change after planting. My fingers are crossed that my mini eleocharis makes it.  I think the moss, star grass and s. repens should be okay,   :huh:   The light isn't that strong so...maybe??? Going low tech so I wanted to plant heavy.  

I tested my ammonia today (monday)  got 2ppm and 0 nitrite so I left it.  Sorry after all that I will get to my questions:

• I am wondering if because the the ammonia spiked so high and with some crazy ph swings,  if my seeded media got blown?  
  • Is it recommended to run the tank for at least 6-8 weeks anyway because of possible leaching from the soil?
  • Is my RO water going to be okay as long as I check each batch I get and then add Salty GH accordingly?

Any suggestions are welcome. Thank you  :) post-3497-0-06550700-1455598427_thumb.jp