Losing Shrimp. Advise On My Parameters..

Hi everyone,

My name is Patrick. I'm a firefighter from NJ and recently got into the nano tank shrimp hobby. I purchased a 5.5 gallon tank and cycled it for about 3 weeks before adding 12 shrimp. Things were going ok and then I added about 15 more shrimp and 5 Thai Micro Crabs. I invested quite a bit into the shrimp I bought and I'm losing them at about a rate of 1 per day. Very frustrating. Initially I thought the crabs were attacking them so i removed them, but it still continues. My current parameters and tank are the following-

ADA aqua soil with 2 pieces of driftwood 

Ph- 6.0

Ammonia- 0.25

Nitrite- 0

Nitrate- 5.0

My ammonia has gone to 0 at a point, but sometimes comes up a bit to 0.25. My Ph and nitrites never fluctuate and my nitrate stays under 10. I know 0 are perfect readings, but I don't think it's that bad to lose as many as I have, right? Can my water be too soft?

I've attached a picture below. I know it's plain. But, I'm a minimalist and I like the very plain dark hardscape with the shrimp that make it pop. This picture was taken when I first added the initial 12.

IMG_2369.JPG

Hi Pat, and welcome to TSS.

-What kind of shrimp did you add?  (In the pic it kinda looks like Crystal Red Shrimp but am I also seeing yellow Neocaridina (cherry) shrimp?

-What water are you using?  (tap or RO)  If RO, what remineralizer are you using?

-Do you by chance know the hardness of your water?  (GH and KH)

11 hours ago, Shrimple minded said:

Hi Pat, and welcome to TSS.

-What kind of shrimp did you add?  (In the pic it kinda looks like Crystal Red Shrimp but am I also seeing yellow Neocaridina (cherry) shrimp?

-What water are you using?  (tap or RO)  If RO, what remineralizer are you using?

-Do you by chance know the hardness of your water?  (GH and KH)

Hi,

- I have Crystal Red and had various Neocaridinia Davidi.

- I'm using tap water with Seachem Prime.