Using Active substrate.

Hi all, Im excited to be active on this forum! 

I am new to shrimp, and I dont have any atm, but I am setting up for them! 

I have a few questions about active substrate, and how it affects water chemistry... I hope you can be patient, but I did search, and couldn't find definitive answers that could help me. 

1. When using an active substrate that makes the KH basically 0, does this affect the balance of PH? I thought that KH was essential to keep the PH stable? Doesn't this defeat the purpose of having a buffering substrate? As the substrate removes the KH that buffers the PH!  I will be using RODI water that is remineralized to the parameters correct for Caridina shrimp what will the substrate be doing?

2. If i am topping up with RODI water that is 6.5 PH, and doing water changes that are remineralized to 6.5ph, 4dgh and 1dkh, what is the substrate actually doing besides being expensive gravel??

3. How long can i expect the substrate to last while using aged RODI water that is remineralized for water changes, and pure for top ups? Id hate to be replacing it every year, as that would mean having several spare "temp" tanks so i can replace /re-cycle the tanks ready for the shrimp. Not to mention EXPENSIVE!!! 

Just a bit of back ground information, I am pretty much home bound now, due to chronic illness, and fish are something i have always had and loved Im moving to shrimp as they are more accessable for me (small tanks that wont kill me to get into and clean!) I got rid of my large tanks, as I am out of space and carrying large amounts of water was killing me!  I am setting up a shrimp rack, that has 9 (16"x16"x16") tanks to replace my several large tanks. It will be set up on a dedicated shelving unit, and each tank will have its own Eheim 2213 and a  sponge filter (with lighting under the shelf unit). I am going to use heaters to for a temp of 23C, I wont need a chiller as the room is controlled year round at 22C!