Dwarf Cray Tank Mates

I would think any fish that are fast, they wouldn't be able to catch, especially if you have a planted tank and lots of hiding spots

and caves, and décor in the tank.

• 3 months later...

I have kept dwarf crays in a large tank with swords, barbs, tetras, white clouds etc.

It would try to grab the fish but never could catch them as they were too fast.

Keep in mind crayfish can only swim backwards, and crawl forwards, so they are limited to what

they can actually grab a hold off...if its not in front of them its safe.

• 2 months later...

My opinion has changed, in the resent days, on the topic of mixing neos with dwarf crays.

I am very new to the care and feeding of invertebrates and find myself researching numerous forums, blogs and retail sites before additions of any chemical or creature. This forum has been an invaluable source of knowledge and an amazing web of personalities with varied opinions. 

To this I wish to add a brief history of the laughs and loss as it pertains to this topic.

My 20 yellow neos, three orange dwarf cray, and 7 male blue moscow guppy roommates have been living and play together like school children. I decided to add some more color to my aquascape by introducing red and blue neos. (primary colors, please don't judge)  The crays where on edge jumping and watching them move around intently and reacting to them as I had not witnessed with the yellows.    

I kept a close count, and the day off, to watch them acclimate.  Any time the shrimp came close to the crays they would try to grab them to no avail, or so I thought…  I began to notice one blue dream with a missing antenna and one with a bit of a tear in its tail.  One red was very slow and looked ready to molt but after an couple hours I found her no longer of this world.