What am I doing wrong?

goosta

Hey everyone,

I'm new to keeping shrimp. I have a 5 gallon Fluval Chi planted tank. My first shrimp were added on Feb 19 (fire red). Most died in shipment, but I added three who made it. Two were dead by the next day. I had one who was pretty big and seemed to be doing well but I found that one dead last week. I bought a CBS from a LFS last month. That one also seemed to be doing great, but was dead within a few weeks. Most recently, I ordered 10 yellow shrimp online. The seller sent me 12, of which, only one was DOA. They were packed really well. As with the previous shrimp, I used drip acclimation before adding them to the tank. They have been slowly dying since I added them. I added them on April 3 and I've been able to track down only 5 today. I know for sure that 3 died, because I saw and removed them.

Here are my water parameters based on Tetra EasyStrips:

Ammonia: 0
Nitrate: 0
Nitrite: 0
Total Hardness: somewhere between 150-300 (GH) ppm (the color is between the two)
Total Chlorine: 0
Total Alkalinity: 120 (KH) ppm
pH: 7.8
Water Temp: 78 F

When I add water / do water changes, I use tap water that I treat with Nutrafin Tap Water Conditioner. I typically let the water sit for about 30 min - 1 hour after I treat it before I add it to the tank (not sure if that's needed or not?). I also match the water temp to the tank using a thermometer.

I have been feeding AZOO Max Growth food periodically. The tank has a fair amount of algae, so I typically was letting them eat that. Is that okay? Should I been feeding more often? I bought some algae wafers too so I added a bit of one earlier which a couple of the shrimp have been eating.

It's been so frustrating losing so many of these little guys. I really enjoy watching them while I work (I work from home and tank is on my desk) and feel bad that they keep dying. So, I'm just trying to figure out what I am doing wrong here. Any thoughts? Thanks so much for your help!