Need your advice please

Citycode01

Hi Guys,

I'm after your professional advise as I'm still new in this hobby. I've got 20G tank with around 30-35 adult mischlings and they aren't breeding very well. Now I'm only having around 8-10 babies (no bee shrimp yet) and only one berried female. I've got this tank for months since December last year and can't make them to breed well. I regularly find dead shrimps, last one I found last week and another one about three weeks ego and it's like normal they always dying like average one shrimp in a two weeks.

I'm keeping them with cherries and they breeding like a crazy, I've already sold more than 350 shrimps on ebay trying to keep population under control and hoping my mischlings start breeding same way too. I'm regularly buying new mischlings to replace dead ones and spend that money I've got from selling cherries.

I'm suspecting my PH is a problem - it's always between 6.8 and 7 and I know it's a bit high for caridina. I was trying to use a lot of IAL and Alder cones plus I've got humic black water in the bottel but the problem is Purigen in the filter sucking all up and I'm only wearing purigen out without effect on PH. I've got Red Bee sand substrate about 2,5-3 inches thick but for some reason it's not working as I expected - I thought it should keep my PH 6,4 -6,5 but insted  I've got 6,9. I'm using RO water with SS GH+ and keeping TDS 140 with GH6 and KH0, nitrate always 0 as I'm using plenty purigen in canister filter plus I have double sponge filter, Temperature is 74 and  very stable as I've got STC-1000 thermostat and collers above the tank, whater change 20% every second week. Feeding once a day with different pelet food (Ebita breed, Shrimp king, SL - Aqua) adding Bacter AE 2-3 times a week plus sometime deep frozen organic spinach, mulberry leafs, IAL, cones, Guava leafs etc.