Greetings from NM

BluePearls

Hi - just found out about this place. Hooray, thanks to whoever sent out the email!

I have 2 55 gal. tanks, a 20 long and a 10 going right now. I only keep... I know you'll be so surprised... blue pearls. :) I used to have a few golden clams but no longer. I've been keeping shrimp for about 5 years, but keeping fish almost my whole life. I currently have two species of rainbow fish - M. praecox and M. boesmanii. I started out with just a few shrimp and the next thing you know... I have gone through them from time to time, selecting out the bluest individuals, and so most of mine are pretty darn blue.

Hope to take part in some interesting conversations here.

Welcome!  What part of New Mexico do you live in?  I will be moving to ABQ in about a year in a half.

Do you keep the blue pearls in just one tank or several tanks?  I would assume you wouldn't keep them with your rainbows (I used to have them and I think they would devour those shrimp super quickly).

I would love to see some photos of your blue pearls.  Does your strain have the red dots?  I had a strain of them 3+ years ago that had some really cool small red spots on them and at the time were some of the bluest I had seen.

Thank you Soothing Shrimp and hi Will - I do keep them with my rainbows actually. I have never witnessed them going after the shrimp, and in fact I keep having more, somehow... you would think if they were eating them I'd have less! It's possible the boesmanii will be slightly more problematic but the other thing is I have planted tanks and so there are plenty of hiding places for the shrimp. That is one of the crew in my avatar. Yes, some of the shrimp sport the red dots which is pretty cool actually.

I live high in the northern mountains of NM somewhat near a town called Mora. Not that near, I would not want to have to walk to my house from the PO in Mora, but it's the nearest place with a PO so we claim it.