Hello From Minnesota!

Crink2716

Hello everyone! 

Just joined the lovely addiction of shrimp .. the forum and hobby of shrimp keeping :thumbsu:  I work at a LPS for a while and have many hobbies ( which seems to happen a lot when you are around pets everyday ... ) soo 3 dogs, 20 Hermit Crabs, 1 Adopted Chameleon, 38 gl Display fish tank later I decided to start a nano tank.... 5 gl.  Trying to decide what could live in a tank of that size with a quality of life etc... made it slim pickings for what I had available around me ..... We always have ghost shrimp where I work and had always found them interesting but started doing research and found these little amazing gems... a local breeder had introduced me to what they called Bloody Mary Shrimp Neocaridina. I started off with 7 and now have noticed that they have been "busy" in my tank... I have 3 females that are berried.  Seeing since this is my first time ever owning shrimp I'm overwhelmingly excited and yet feel like I have jumped in the deep end a little too soon ... haha.   Since noticing that my new babies are expecting I am wondering what I can do to optimize the survival rate of the new arrivals to be.  The tank system they are in currently is a top fin 5 gallon .... now the one they are currently in has the filter and water intake all fixed in so doing modifications was/is slightly tricky.  I suppose the nice thing is that the filter cartridge is located before the pump so I was able to stick a sponge in front of the filter to help slow the flow and any shrimp being sucked in... ( here is a link of the tank I have set up http://www.petsmart.com/fish/aquariums/top-fin-5-gallon-glass-aquarium-zid36-27504/cat-36-catid-300065).  The flow of the water is very calm towards the middle and bottom but at the top I have angled the output so that it isn't such a crazy outflow and makes the water a little more calm than what it could be.  I feel this tank could be greatly improved with a completely different tank but