Easy Cray outside set up

Louie

This is how I have always bred crays . I keep them outside under gazebo roof in screen area . My dwarfs are inside and they never bred , lol but even impossible to breed crays will breed outside thus it is not like I am an expert at breeding crays .

In the last pic you notice all the rat traps and that was due to a large male raccoon who would tear my screen and attempt to raid ONLY the Marbled cray bin .  He was not able to but until he was caught and I put in stronger screen , the rat traps stopped him but he came for 5 consecutive nights .

Either way its a basic set up with silicone in place pvc pipes and I add "bamboo" which send out thick roots and the baby crays hide .  I need to add more 'bamboo' to the new White cray set up.

Before using the bin , I fill it with water 1/2 way up for a month to leach out any chemicals than change the water and it is ready .

I keep about 8 inches of water in all the cray bins , no need to use more or they warp .  I don't use filter just siphon out 50% about 2x a week and replace with my pond water .

I fold the screen so it slides off not lift off and the rear 50% stays put as that is where the
bamboo" grows .

white cray 1

white cray 2a

New white cray set up with marbled (much older set up in rear)

The bins are 30 inches long and 16 wide .

The older bin in the background which inside is roots covering pvc pipes has 3 adult marbled crays .  The crays do eat roots here and there but not enough so I do wind up trimming the roots but the 'bamboo' could not care less and I often wind up trimming them .

The pictured bin has a pair of 3 1/2 inch White crays and I have another older well established 'bamboo' bin not pictured with a blue clarcki female and I plan to add an extra white  male who I have inside but to small now .