Empty Tank need suggestion for idea tank for freshwater shrimp

Bobby

I am new to freshwater shrimp. I need suggestion to the Ideal tank. I have a 30 gallon tank that was free. I have to got to try shrimp. By the way it is tank # 12.

I think it matters a little what kind of shrimp you want to do. Some are much more picky than others, and that would greatly affect your choice of substrates, filters, etc. Have your eye on any in particular yet?

tap water is neutral I have just about all freshwater fish. 11 Tanks.  A Oscar tank gallon, A Angle tank 45 gallon , a 1" community tank 75 gallon , a community tank with sharks and tinfoil barbs 100 gallons , a African tank 30 gallon , a goldfish tank 150 gallon, a catfish tank 30 gallon. a Discus tank being cycled 75 gallon and 2 hospital tanks.  Now a 30 gallon shrimp tank when I get the tank ideas from this site and what it should have in it.

You have the right idea, first of all.  The more water, the more stable- and shrimp are more sensitive than fish to keep.  You will have to measure gh/kh and TDS in addition to the "fish water" tests.

If you want crystals (crs/cbs), OEBT, BTOE or TB, you are looking for a ph of closer to 6, which can be done by a buffering substrate with a lower than room temp.

If you want neos, your ph 7+ should be fine with room temp.

If you want Sulawesi, you are looking at 8+ for ph and a temp of 80+

Just about any snails are fine with shrimp, as long as they match the temp desired.  Assassin snails are teh exception.  They do a great job of getting rid of snail infestations, but also can get rid of some of your shrimp, too.

• 3 weeks later...

as far as the snails, malaysian trumpet is good for cleaning the substrate/bottom of leftovers and such

definitely use a hob/canister filter and a spongefilter