I was at Petsmart and noticed that the LEDs lights in their aquarium packages say "6 year life"! My Spec 3 lights have also gone dim in a matter of months.

Is this  normal or only for low grade LED lights? I was thinking these would last nearly forever with the talk about "20 year life" for LED bulbs.. though my Crees have not lasted very long before dimming or dying.

I'm not sure there is any cash savings it you have to replace the light every 6 years.

To be honest when it comes to aquarium hardware, you get what you pay for. I always bite the bullet take a little bit longer to save, to buy something of quality. It is something I certainly have learned over the years.

1 hour ago, DETAquarium said:

To be honest when it comes to aquarium hardware, you get what you pay for. I always bite the bullet take a little bit longer to save, to buy something of quality. It is something I certainly have learned over the years.

I have no experience with the Spec 3. I agree you get what you pay for. The really cheap lights from China will not last. If you only need lights for low to medium light requiring plants then the really cheap ones with low life span can be justified due to price. You can buy a very good light for $100 that last 5-6 years or buy three $25- $30 lights in that time span. Places like Petsmart and Petco sells equipment that is just as crappy as Walmart.

At ~6 months my Finnex Stingrays are a little dimmer. Which in the case of the 10 gal is nice, as that was so bright it hurt to look at. They are still working fine (plants are happy) unlike the Fluval lights.

If a 100$ light only lasts 5-6 years is florescent the cheaper way to go? Double the energy cost but swap bulbs and you are back in business as opposed to swapping the whole light or soldering new LEDs back in?

4 hours ago, Crackhead Johny said: