Mark's Almost-ADA tank

MABJ

Hey guys,

I figured I'd try out my journal here for the last tank I have standing that I still really love.

This started as an idea for a tank that would be 100% ADA products, it would be perfect.

Well it didn't turn out that way. I will someday do an ADA tank, but I am a college student, to which every dollar is precious.

I learned about some high quality tanks from AquaTop, and I found the identical size to the Mini S and I went from there.

The AquaTop tank is beautiful. I really enjoy it, and other than a few finesse things, it was really on par with ADA glass I've seen. It was like $25 with free shipping.

The filter is my favorite nano filter, the ZooMed 501. Really nice flow, and really well priced. I believe they were $30 shipped on Amazon when I got them.

Substrate is Fluorite Dark, as I was looking for something inert to keep neos.

I set the tank up super fast, and I probably cut some devastating corners. I seeded it from other filters, and I've never really gotten ammonia reading, and I've always had a touch of Nitrates, so I suppose it was Ok.

My original intent was to fill this with Blue Diamonds. I ordered six from Nick on TPT, and I was in love. They were so beautiful!

They didn't make it. Likely due to the aquarium being so new, perhaps some to age.

I have one beautiful shrimp left, but was looking to take one last shot at shrimp (I tend to only do 1-2 species at a time) before I give up on shrimping in a dorm room.

I'll be moving to an apartment in a matter of months, so maybe then I'll expand my operations.

I recently did a ton of trimming, replanting and added a few species, so it looks different.

I snagged the juvenile tigers off Will. They're beauts.

Posted Image

One jumped ship, but they've stopped aimlessly swimming.

I want to think the jumping ship was an accident.. He probably just got up on the filter tube, got scared and did that jumping backwards thing, but jumped out :/.