Hello from WA state

Crazyfishlady

Hello, I am just getting started with shrimp keeping and I'm nervous and excited.  I keep mostly bettas and know the value of a great forum so I found this one.

I have 4 tanks. 3 are betta/nerite snail only tanks (2 males and one female each in their own tank)

My 4th tank is relatively new (cycled) and is a temperate tank. I started out with golden white cloud mountain minnows and LOVE them, but then I saw the shrimp and a LFS (although it's not a run of the mill LFS it's more specialized). 

After being PROMISED that the shrimp would actually do well in the cooler water, I now have 4 blue velvet shrimp and 2 yellow sakuras. 

I have been scouring the internet, watching youtube like a favorite tv channel obession, trying to learn how to take care of my new kiddos.

I haven't pin pointed the type of shrimp I have, other than the name that was written on the bag they came home in.

They are in a 20high tank with all real plants (Val, Anubis, java moss, flame moss, peacock moss, dwarf hair grass, myrio and who knows what else, lol). There is also driftwood and seiryu rock.

Substrate is Floramax

So, just saying hello... hoping to learn and keep my little ones happy and healthy!

post-507-0-51979000-1416280953_thumb.jpg

post-507-0-96811700-1416280953_thumb.jpg

Welcome!  Both BV and yellows are Neo Davidi and will breed together if you have them in the same aquarium.  Nothing wrong with that if you are experimenting, however if yu want a nice line of one color you may want to separate them.  All depends on your goals.

Again, welcome here!

Thank you and THANK YOU! I very specifically asked if the two would inter breed and was told they would not. Sigh... well I have been wanting to set up a shrimp only tank guess I will be doing that sooner than I had planned.

I appreciate the info! :)