Help with water parameters?

I got my API master testing kit today, so I tried out all the tests. pH was undoubtedly really hard to tell and I can only guess that it's between 7-7.6, because I can't be certain. Ammonia seemed to be at 0 or 0.25ppm. Nitrite was 0 ppm as well. Nitrate was pretty high though. The results were bright red and it seemed like 40 ppm. I do partial water changes at least once a week though, and I actually just changed some water yesterday. I did my nitrate test again and go the same results, and I actually shook the hell out of it. I'll post the updated one later. I know people say the pH isn't accurate for API but it's all I have. Thanks!

Here's a summary of the test results again:

pH: 7-7.6

Ammonia: 0-0.25ppm

Nitrite: 0ppm

Nitrate: 40ppm

Can you guys tell me if these results are okay? I know ammonia isn't but I'm not sure about pH. I have red and yellow shrimp (neos). Thanks

The API nitrate test is notoriously picky about the process. Make sure to shake up number two for a solid minute and shake the mixture for another minute, then let rest for exactly 5 minutes. If you don't follow the process exactly and consistently, your readings can be all over the place. I have calibrated my testing to a standard Nitrate solution and is very accurate when the steps are done right.

In my experience, the ammonia test almost always shows a tiny bit of ammonia even when none is present.

The pH test is generally accurate compared to my pH pen but it can look very different under different lighting. Incandescent is usually best.

I did make sure that I followed the procedures really carefully. I timed all my steps. If my nitrate level was at 40ppm, would my shrimp still be living?

They will still be living but miserable. They probably won't breed, you should try and cut that in half.

have a gneiss day

I would do small ( 10 % water changes) each day if it were my tank.