wanting to get into RCS

shamedic

Hello all im new to the fourms and shrimp ill start by saying I have been keeping cichlid for about 5 years and ready to move on to something new here is a list of my equipment

240 gallon tank 70x30x25

FX6 x2 I know they don’t like a lot of flow right now they are plumed into my overflows and I was thinking if I drop the water lvl 2 inch and reverse the flow it will make it like waterfalls over the overflowbox so it wont be blowing them all over

300w heaters x3

Marine land bouble bright 48 inch x2

BTW this is going to be a Shrimp only tank

Here is a list of things I would like to know

1 can i use norm aquarium gravel?

2 are live plants a most or can i use plastic plants?

3 what type of wood can i put in there with them.

4 will the wood mess with the water to much i would like alot of it and will it change the water color if i boil the crap out of it.

5 my tap water Ph is at or around 7.4-7.6 will this be fine for them to breed

6 do i still need to use PRIME when i do water changes. I'm sure i do but just want to make sure

7 What live plants can I grow with the lights I have I do plan on putting moss balls in it

8 i realy like painted fire red cherry shrimp do they need different water lvls then norm RCS

thank you for any and all help

shamedic

That's a big tank! Red cherry shrimp / Sakura/ fire / painted are all the same just different degrees of redness. Ph is fine. Yes need prime. Don't need heaters. Gravel is fine. Better put something over canister inlet to keep from sucking up shrimp, either foam or SS steal mesh. Live plants are always better. Didn't say what kind of lights but you can grow moss, buce, with low cheap light. Drift wood, manzanita, cholla are great. Avoid grape wood and soft wood. Boil/ soak wood to get out tannins abd help sink. All colors of cherry shrimp I interbreed and will result in wild coloration. Pick one color. Good luck.