Test strips

Hi,

I am still pretty new to shrimping especially the water testing side of things, so would really appreciate some input from some more experienced people!

On the rare occasions I have tested my water I have borrowed my boyfriends API freshwater test kit, but have always had quite erratic results, especially for PH! Reading up on here it may be due to it being opened for a couple of years, but also possibly user error!

I have been looking at test strips and have read mixed reviews, they seem to me a much easier method of testing water, but if they aren't accurate I don't want to kill my shrimp.

So does anyone have any recommendations for good test strips, I need KH and GH as well?

Secondly do I need a TDS meter as well? If so any recommendations of budget ones?

I currently only have cherries but plan to add some tigers soonish and later to bee shrimp.

Thank you! Sorry for the long post!

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

If the test kit is a few years old and is giving you inconsistent results, it is time for a new one. Word on the street is not to trust the API liquid kits after two years post manufacture.

I actually like test strips, but I am in the minority. I have been using Tetra multistrips for the last few years, paired with an in-tank ammonia monitor made by Seachem. I would say that they are accurate but not very precise. Although they are perfect for frequent nitrite and nitrate checks, if your ultimate goal is sensitive bee shrimp that require specific GH, KH, and pH, you should look for a more precise method of measuring those values.

I need new strips, so I may be giving the Sera brand a trial run. I have their nitrate test kit, which is a thing of beauty compared to API's.

Yes, you will want a TDS meter. I have the Hanna Primo 2, no complaints.