Hurricane Season Power Outage Prep : How to....???

We are beginning hurricane season and we frequently get power outages from the tropical storms & hurricanes. Every season, I make sure we are prepared and realized my shrimp also need protection. This is my first year with shrimp tanks and not quite sure what the best approach is with my current set up. 

I have 3G JBJ Picotopes with AC30 HOB filters. I do have them on a surge protector but I need a way to battery operate them. What do the experts suggest and do?

Thanks in advance. I've been reading around and not quite sure what is best for our set up here. 

I am not an expert at this, but as a fisherman, I know that we used to buy rather robust DC airpumps that ran on D cell batteries for a couple of bucks to keep our bait alive.

Granted, after learning a bit more I think our efforts might have been in vain. We were thinking that the water was losing oxygen. We really should have been worrying more about getting the nitrates and such out of the water column.

Sponge filters run off of an air pump and do an excellent job. It wouldn't hurt to have one that had some good bacteria on it and was ready to go(though I will leave that to the experts). Some people run sponge filters on air pumps as their sole filtering since they are cheap and efficient.

13 minutes ago, pucksr said:

Sponge filters run off of an air pump and do an excellent job. It wouldn't hurt to have one that had some good bacteria on it and was ready to go(though I will leave that to the experts).