10G MK Breed Style Tank Setup

kubism

Hey Guys, 

I'm pretty new to the shrimp hobby ( 3 months in ) but I'm very lucky to have meet some nice hobbyists ( both local and international ) that helped me tremendiousely along the way.

After seeing pictures of MK Breed PRL on Facebook, I knew I MUST get my hands on them ! Luckily I live about 15 min away from Blue Crown Aquatics, and found out they will be importing full line of MK Breed Products & Shrimp ! 

Id like to share with everyone my experiances of setting up a new tank using MK Breed products. So far, its been one of the easiest tank setups that I've done, and it grew a epic amount of biofilm / green algae like many of the tanks that the Taiwanese breeders have in their tanks. 

10G rimless tank with thin layer of ADA Amazonia on the bottom.

post-310-0-51635100-1416589223_thumb.jpg

Sprinkled MK Breed Z powder on to the substrate.

post-310-0-59859000-1416589224_thumb.jpg

Covered with another thin layer of ADA, sprinkle 1~3 spoon full of MK Breed Gold Powder on top of the substrate. Filled with RO water, added sponge filter, and another 3 spoonful of Mk Breed Z powder directly into the water. 

post-310-0-61700000-1416589225_thumb.jpg

Turn on the lights and left it on for 2 weeks straight. 

post-310-0-72460500-1416589226_thumb.jpg

End of week 1, starting to have some green algae on the sides.

post-310-0-42173200-1416589227_thumb.jpg

Another shot from the top, starting to green up.

post-310-0-18192300-1416589228_thumb.jpg

2 weeks in the entire tank is green !

post-310-0-28549900-1416589229_thumb.jpg

3rd week

Cleaned the front of the glass to better see the tank. Changed 1/3 of the water with RO, then added MK Breed Blue Diamond to adjust TDS to 80~110, gh2 , also added 1/2 cap full of MK Breed Blood Diamond 

Returned to normal lighting schedule. 

post-310-0-12963800-1416589230_thumb.jpg

Added some moss and tester shrimps.

post-310-0-86128600-1416589230_thumb.jpg