Any problem with direct manipulation?

As I'm completely new, I was not sure if there if there was a sportsmanship aspect to the hobby or if we were simply hellbent for pretty.

Basically, I'm asking as my PHD friend and her PHD friend say I will have to drop 500$ on top of the cost of CRISPR/Cas9 unless I want to go the mercury route.

Is this considered unsportsmanlike with shrimp?

Genetic lines should be 100% stable give or take 3% :)

I'm no scientist,  but it seems to me that natural selection for an environment will always win out in the long run over genetic engineering.

Interesting thread! I would be for it. As long as ethics and good practices/precautions are adhered to, I think work around genome editing should be done to progress the collective understanding and ability of humanity.

Of course there are many opponents to the technique, and with some valid arguments, but the new depth of understanding is worth the risks, in my humble and uninformed opinion!

Has the global moratorium been lifted?

As I'm completely new, I was not sure if there if there was a sportsmanship aspect to the hobby or if we were simply hellbent for pretty.

Basically, I'm asking as my PHD friend and her PHD friend say I will have to drop 500$ on top of the cost of CRISPR/Cas9 unless I want to go the mercury route.

Is this considered unsportsmanlike with shrimp?

Genetic lines should be 100% stable give or take 3% [emoji4]

CRISPR/Cas9 technology is really new as far as molecular biology goes. I've been studying it for a few years and as much as I would be interested in seeing what happens, it may be considered unethical by some.

I gotta ask, how would you plan on using it? Targeting fertilized eggs or extracting eggs from females then artificially fertilizing would be extremely hard and would require even more expensive equipment. In vivo applications are extremely limited and just shown to even be possible about a year ago.

22 hours ago, Loumeer said: