Feeding Schedule & Leaf Litter

lizam

Hi,

So I'm new to shrimp keeping.  I have tried to do research and this might be a dumb question but I would rather appear dumb than mess up.

I now have two small tanks with some awesome shrimp thanks to SKA Shrimp, PRL and OEBT!  Love them :)  So a breeder I was chatting with on FB recommended that I feed only 3 times a week all they can eat in an hour and no longer than 2 hours and give a couple days off for them to clear their systems.  This seems to be good especially for my PRL tank at work.  I gave my PRLs amaranth leaf the other day and they (12) chomped that down within 24 hours, nothing left!    Tried a Mulberry leaf for my OEBT (just got those a few days ago)  this weekend.  Weren't to excited when I first put in yesterday but today they seem to like it and the snails love it :)

Both tanks have a cappatta leaf and alder cones for biofilm and all that...

If I give leaf litter that they are chowing down on can or should I still feed regular food in addition to?  

PRL Shrimp Tank.jpg

OEBT Apr 17.jpg

My main leaf litter is IAL (Indian almond leaf) banana and Guava. I use these leaves for bio-film and food source but the primary function is the antibacterial properties. These leaves are in my tank 100% and in my opinion a must have. Softer leaves like mulberry and amaranth are given once a week as food and I alternate between the two. My feeding schedule is 3 time a week and on the weekend I will add a small piece of snowflake.

54 minutes ago, Vpier said:

My main leaf litter is IAL (Indian almond leaf) banana and Guava. I use these leaves for bio-film and food source but the primary function is the antibacterial properties. These leaves are in my tank 100% and in my opinion a must have. Softer leaves like mulberry and amaranth are given once a week as food and I alternate between the two. My feeding schedule is 3 time a week and on the weekend I will add a small piece of snowflake.