Cherry Shrimp with possible Parasites???

Digerri

Hi there.  New here and hope someone here can help.  

I just purchased some Cherry shrimp today.  After putting them in tank I noticed this berried females eggs look like they have possible parasites.

Just wondering if anyone has experience with this and what it is.  I really don't want it so spread it other females carrying eggs.  

Thanks.

Diana

post-518-0-02761800-1416548238_thumb.jpg

I am a little bit new, but one of my females had that for a day after having her babies. It was empty egg residue that she cleaned up over a day.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Do you know what is is called?

What meds with formalin do you recommend?

Check this out:

http://www.crustahunter.com/schimmel-garnelenschimmel-pilzbefall/

Bought a couple red cherries from my lfs a year ago.  I was a real newbie. One of the shrimp had this problem, although it was a white color - and it did die a while after putting her in the tank - so did the rest of my cherries later - although I never did see any of this bacteria on the others.

White inside is bacterial infection.

The "green eggs" is either a fungus or parasite depending on whom you talk to.

The only successful way to get rid of it in the US that has been tried that I know of is a salt dip.  And yes.  Isolate it, and treat or cull because it can spread and kill your entire colony:

http://www.plantedtank.net/forums/sh...=146903&page=2 Look at post 29 and 30, 33 and 34

http://www.aquaticquotient.com/forum...940#post694940

The links are for vorticella, but uses the same treatment as what you'll have to do.  Possibly even stronger.

I believe the European treatment is a bath in formalin.  Effective, but toxic so be careful.

where did you purchase this shrimp from?  thats also good information so others dont do the same.

I know its terrible to say but ultimately the best answer is to isolate this shrimp and hope it clears up otherwise destroy and move on.