HOB media?

Soothing Shrimp

I'm still pretty new to fish.  I just added an HOB to one of my tanks tank , but still keeping the double sponge running until the HOB is seeded.

If I remember correctly, there's no need for carbon, so what should I fill the HOB with for beneficial bacteria?

I have a top fin 30 on a 20T.

Matrix. 

Here is everything you ever wanted to know about biofiltration; http://www.seachem.com/Library/SeaGrams/Biofiltration.pdf

Here is a study comparing others vs. Matrix http://www.seachem.com/support/SpecificSurface.pdf

Biomax is cheaper and would be my second choice.

Yes absolutely.  Put it in a bag- Fluval makes some for the AC 20/30 that should fit.  You may want a sponge for polishing as well.

I have two of these, they are tiny little filters but the setup would be the same for me even if I was using aquaclear or in your case Top Fin

What kind of fish?

In my betta tanks (that have HOBs) I just use sponges, and now purigen. Before I found heavenly purigen, They are small tanks and fully planted. I keep the carbon cartridge around just in case I have to medicate the tanks but honestly have never used them.

I use sponge on the bottom, purigen in place of carbon and then the bio rings. .  

Aquariumlover I think the reason alot of fish keepers no longer use carbon is because it is only beneficial for a month then it needs to be changed or can sit there uselessly. 

For my zoo med 501s (about the same size as an HOB) I use a sponge on the intake so I can go without it inside of the filter and then fill the chamber with pea sized lava (like high5 mentioned), purigen, and sera super peat. I've used panty hose before and it works but I switched to these cheap filter bags I got on eBay for everything but purigen. They allow more flow than the panty hose

I use sponge on the bottom, purigen in place of carbon and then the bio rings. .