Sulawesi Shrimps!

Lexinverts

Hello all!

Will from theShrimptank has awakened me from my "freshwater forum slumber" with his import of Sulawesi shrimps. I used to be active on several shrimp forums, but have recently become enamored with saltwater aquariums and coral propagation, and that has taken up my forum time. I still have 16 freshwater shrimp tanks, however! My main focus is on Tiger shrimp and Sulawesi.

I have been breeding Cardinals for about 2 years now, and currently have 4 tanks devoted to Cardinal breeding. I'm going to try my hand with Yellow Cheeks and just ordered some from Will.

Below are some pictures of a 9 gallon cube that I have had set up with Cardinals for about 2 years. I don't actually recommend such a small tank however, because of the issue of rapid evaporation. I have to top it off every day. Sulawesi shrimp also require a lot of aeration, which exacerbates the evaportation problem.

My other Sulawesi shrimp tanks are 20 gallon highs. The tank that I put the Yellow Cheeks in will have auttopoff (from the Reef aquarium world), which will help fight evaporation.

Cardinal_tank2_zpsnwr5jpfq.jpg

Cardinal_tank1_zps7et4eurm.jpg

Great to see you again, old friend!

Have you tried your hand at any saltwater shrimp?

Hi Bryce!

I have kept all of the Lysmata (Fire shrimp, cleaner shrimp, peppermint shrimp), which are incredible animals. At some point I want to try Sexy anemone shrimp, which are possible to breed in captivity. For now, I have too many predators in my reef tanks for these small shrimp to survive. I need to set up a saltwater nano, and try my hand at keeping and breeding them.

I've been wanting to do that for quite some time now. A member here even offered to send me some sw shrimp to help get me sterted, but I was not set up for it.

I think there's a post here I made on the different colors of sexies I was able to find in pics.