Pleco's

Shrimp lady

Does anyone keep Pleco's or have any success breeding them? I'm new to these but are VERY fastinated by them! Please share your experiences here...

Bought 2 common bristle noses about 2 years ago. Had them with some African Shellie's. Water was not good for plecos (PH 8.2 GH about 16 KH about 14). Male disappeared under driftwood for 2 weeks and about 20 babies appeared.

This continued every 5-6 weeks till now. They're still in the same type of water. They eat pellets that fish miss. With the Shellie's, most were picked off. They're now with cyprichromis which don't eat anything larger than .5 mm. One tank has about 50 plecos. The other has over 65. Most of these are VEry small. Can't give enough away. Beware of what you ask for. Remember, if you're old enough, Uharu thought tribbles were cute.

a year ago I got myself 2 Leopard Frog Plecos L-134. I must have got the pair during mating season cause they went at it quickly. I had about 12 baby pleco's. I got rid of all of them except for one. Plecos are not as easy to deal with like shrimplets.

I have had alot of bristlenose and they are hardy, easy to keep and you just need to keep up with cleaning waste they produce on the bottom of tank. (the do produce more waste then shrimp or other fish, thats for sure)

Breeding is simple. All you need is a mature female and male , a cave and they should do the rest!

They also like to eat veggies like zucchini, french cut canned green beans (salt free and rinsed) , sweet potato...

I have had alot of bristlenose and they are hardy, easy to keep and you just need to keep up with cleaning waste they produce on the bottom of tank. (the do produce more waste then shrimp or other fish, thats for sure)

Breeding is simple. All you need is a mature female and male , a cave and they should do the rest!

They also like to eat veggies like zucchini, french cut canned green beans (salt free and rinsed) , sweet potato...

Do you males get along ?