Mr Aqua 12 Gallon Long Shrimp Tank Build

jahmarley420

Before starting off this thread, I want to give a huge shout out to the support team at shrimpspot for fixing my username!

Well first things first, My name is Justin, and I am very new to the shrimp world. I have a 5.5 gallon tank right now, that is in need of a upgrade. So, after countless hour of research on which tank to buy, I have decided on the 12 gallon long by Mr Aqua. I decided to hop on craigslist (shot in the dark) but I actually found a guy in North Jersey (about 2 hours and 45 minutes away) that has one. So January 31, 2016 I set off to New Jersey to pick up the tank. When I arrived in NJ the first sight of the tank, you would not believe how big of a smile I had on my face. The guy was really nice the only thing that needed to be done is a little clean up! Later that night after getting back, I decided to start the whole cleaning of the tank process. So, I filled it up with hot water, and decided to eat dinner and watch my Hockey team while letting the tank soak (you probably already know where this is going.) After about 1.5 hours I heard a really loud bang, yes, a large crack right down the front of the aquarium.Here is a picture of the tragedy. 

20160201_072805_zpskbs6qxrc.jpg

Because I could never find a new one, I decided to try and repair this one. I started searching for glass and I could not believe it but I found a company that still sells the Mr Aqua 12 gallon long low iron for only 115... (There goes the 60 I threw on the old one). Well I ordered the new one and the tank looks amazing! I really want to go with the Iwagumi style, but after much thought I have decided to go with a driftwood setup, using Manzanita wood (Ohko Stone/Dragon stone is very expensive). Anyways I found a company Bloom & Branches who had just what I needed at a really decent price (pre sandblasted). When the wood arrived I couldn't have asked for a better set.